When changes are made to an annoconfig, the underlying XML content of the file often becomes reordered in such a way as to make typical source control diff/compare tools unusable. The file contents may stay consistent for a while on a single developers machine but definitely get messed up across multiple developers machines. This invalidates much of the revision history in source control, but - more importantly - it makes it unnecessarily difficult to do simultaneous co-development of a model because there is no way to manage merge conflicts.
NOTICE TO EU RESIDENTS: per EU Data Protection Policy, if you wish to remove your personal information from the IBM ideas portal, please login to the ideas portal using your previously registered information then change your email to "firstname.lastname@example.org" and first name to "anonymous" and last name to "anonymous". This will ensure that IBM will not send any emails to you about all idea submissions